Hall of Fame

Each year, USA BMX inducts two legendary BMX racers, one legendary Freestyle rider, along with one influential Industry person, as well as one influential BMX woman into the National BMX Hall of Fame. Nominations are accepted from the public, the final list of nominees is determined by the Hall of Fame Selection Committee, and the BMX Hall of Fame inductees, industry, media and a select few history experts cast their votes on the ballot to determine each year`s class.

The official home of the National BMX Hall of Fame is located at USA BMX headquarters in Gilbert, AZ.


NOMINATING PROCESS: Each year, the National BMX Hall of Fame Committee requests nominations from the public and BMX community. Anybody can nominate someone for the BMX Hall of Fame. 
Nomination forms are accepted from October to January, and all entrants are considered. The Hall of Fame committee will narrow down the nominees to the Top-5, who are then voted on by over 500 votees - made up of current Hall of Famers, BMX media and Industry, and Vintage BMX experts and historians. 

When considering all Hall of Fame Nominations - the selection committee looks for Inductees who have made a serious impact on the sport of BMX; whether it be through performance and accomplishments, or outside of competition. 
Nominees in the Freestyle, Pioneer, Woman, and Racer categories are required to be inactive from professional competition for at least five (5) years or be over the age of 40. Nominees in the Industry category may still be active in the BMX industry.
All nominees should have made a direct impact to the sport of BMX in some of the following ways:
  • Helped change the direction of the sport of BMX and left their mark in a positive manner.
  • Influential and recognized figure in the sport of BMX.
  • Took the sport of BMX to a higher level of achievement or competition.
  • Earned achievements such as National or World titles and championships, popularity awards, media attention, brand advertising and endorsement of BMX products, team sponsorship, and other competitive contributions.
On a personal level, the individual should display attributes such as leadership, sportsmanship, character, and integrity.


  • Troy Lee | 2009, Industry


    Troy Lee Designs began back in 1981 when Troy Lee himself followed in his father`s footsteps...

  • Eddie Fiola | 2009, Freestyle


    Eddie is a true legend in BMX and arguably the best rider to EVER ride a skatepark...

  • R.L. Osborn & Mike Buff | 2009, Freestyle


    Although they are best known as the godfathers of freestyle, both R.L. and Buff got their start as BMX racers...

  • D.D. Leone | 2009, Racer


    Born Dominick Donald Leone Jr. in 1965, but better known in the BMX world as "D.D."...

  • Danny Oakley | 2009, Pioneer


    Danny first started BMX racing in 1965 in the Baldwin Hills area, above Ladera Heights, and later, in Malibu in Southern California...

  • Jeremy McGrath | 2009, Special Recognition


    Often referred to as "MC", "Showtime", and "The King" (meaning the "King of Supercross"), Jeremy is the winningest Supercross racer ever...